Central Appalachians

Maryland, Pennsylvania, Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee

We are for a future in which the Central Appalachians’ essential forests and rivers, and premier natural diversity are protected in an enduring mountain landscape that sustains nature, people, and the rich cultural heritage of the Appalachians.

The Nature Conservancy’s Central Appalachians program has identified three priority areas crucial to protecting this landscape:

  • Smart resource development
  • Protected and restored habitats on public lands
  • West Virginia - as the heart of the Appalachian landscape, conservation efforts within the Mountain State impact the people, water and wildlife throughout the region. 

Explore our latest news and features to learn more about these priorities and how we work. To stay connected with the Conservancy, sign up to receive our monthly e-newsletter , localized with content from your home state!

Latest News & Features

Latest Photos

Latest Videos


Stay Updated

Learn about the places you love and find out how you can help by signing up for Nature eNews.

I'm already on the list Read our privacy policy

Thank you for joining our online community!

We'll be in touch soon with more Nature Conservancy news, updates, and exciting stories.