Start receiving our award-winning magazine today!

Subscribe

Illinois

Volunteer

Are you interested in:

  • helping the environment?
  • working with others who share your love of nature?
  • contributing your time and skills to an organization you believe in?
  • broadening your resume and/or life experiences?

If you answered yes to any of these questions, we've got some great opportunities for you! 

The Nature Conservancy in Illinois Volunteer Opportunities

Nachusa Grasslands: Please contact Preserve Manager Bill Kleiman at bkleiman@tnc.org or 815-456-2340. You can also learn more through Friends of Nachusa Grasslands.

Kankakee Sands: Please contact Preserve Manager Rob Littiken at rlittiken@tnc.org.

Spunky Bottoms: Please contact Restoration Manager Tharran Hobson at 309-547-2730.

Grassy Slough: Please contact Volunteer Stewardship Network Coordinator Karen Tharp at ktharp@tnc.org or 618-634-2524.

Midewin: Please contact Volunteer Coordinator Allison Cisneros at acisneros@tnc.org or 815.423.2149. You can also learn more and see volunteer position descriptions on the Midewin volunteer web page.

Emiquon: Please contact Jason Beverlin at jbeverlin@tnc.org or 309-547-2730.

Indian Boundary Prairies: Please contact Karl Gnaedinger at 708-363-1654 or kgnaedinger@tnc.org.

Volunteer Stewardship Network

The Volunteer Stewardship Network (VSN) is a group of thousands of individuals committed to preserving Illinois' native plants and animals in healthy, viable habitats. The VSN is comprised of volunteer groups working at natural areas across the state. Volunteers come from many backgrounds, but they all share one thing — a love for Illinois' woodlands, wetlands and prairie.

For 25 years, the VSN has been helping to connect people with volunteer stewardship groups across the State of Illinois who are working to protect remaining natural areas. For more information about the VSN, please contact Karen Tharp, the Volunteer Stewardship Network Coordinator at 866-VSN-LINE (876-5463) or email at ktharp@tnc.org.

For updates on what is happening across the state, view the current VSN newsletter Gatherings Online.


We’re Accountable

The Nature Conservancy makes careful use of your support.

More Ratings

x animal

Sign up for Nature eNews!

Sign Up for Nature e-News

Get our e-newsletter filled with eco-tips and info on the places you care about most.

Thank you for joining our online community!

We’ll be in touch soon with more Nature Conservancy news, updates and exciting stories.

Please leave this field empty

We respect your privacy. The Nature Conservancy will not sell, rent or exchange your e-mail address. Read our full privacy policy for more information. By submitting this form, you agree to the Nature.org terms of use.