Associate State Director Laura McCarthy Tapped for Lujan Grisham Transition Team

New Mexico Governor-Elect Lujan Grisham announces additional members to Natural Resources Agency transition teams

New Mexico

Associate State Director of New Mexico.
Laura McCarthy Associate State Director of The Nature Conservancy in New Mexico will serve on Lujan Grisham's transition team. © Alan Eckert Photography

Governor-elect Lujan Grisham announced new members of her government transition teams.  These teams will be responsible for providing the Governor-Elect with detailed reviews of the Energy Minerals & Natural Resources Department, Environment Department, Office of the State Engineer and the Interstate Stream Commission as part of the gubernatorial transition process. The transition teams will engage with key stakeholders and current government agency personnel and provide detailed strategic recommendations on improving state government operations to Governor-elect Lujan Grisham.

On November 15, the Lujan Grisham transition office announced the appointment of co-chairs to lead seven specific committees, each examining distinct areas of state government. Governor-elect Lujan Grisham named Interwest Energy Alliance Executive Direct Sarah Cottrell Propst and Deputy Director New Mexico State Parks Toby Velasquez as co-chairs of the Natural Resources Committee. The individuals named today will work with these Co-chairs on their Agency review efforts.

Below is a list of members of Governor-elect Lujan Grisham’s agency transition teams for the Energy Minerals & Natural Resources Department, Environment Department, Office of the State Engineer and the Interstate Stream Commission:

New Mexico Environment Department

Beth Beloff, Chair, Sustainable Santa Fe Commission

Sandy Buffett, Former Executive Director, Conservation Voters New Mexico

Charlie De Saillan, Staff Attorney, New Mexico Environmental Law Center

Maureen Gannon, Executive Director of Environment, Safety and Land for PNMR Services

John Mitchiner, Former Senior Manager of Computational Science Research & Development, Sandia National Laboratories

Jason Sandel, Executive Vice President, Aztec Well

Gabriel Vasquez, Las Cruces City Councilor

Energy, Minerals & Natural Resources

Kyle Armstrong, Vice President, Armstrong Energy

Heather Balas, Executive Director, New Mexico First

Bryn Davis, El Paso Electric

Anna DeLay, Educator

Jon Goldstein, Director of Environmental Affairs, Environmental Defense Fund

Laura McCarthy, Associate State Director, Nature Conservancy in New Mexico

Roberta Salazar Henry, Former Assistant Director, New Mexico Department of Game & Fish

Juan Sanchez, President, Chilili Land Grant, Member New Mexico Acequia Commission

Don Schreiber, Rancher

Garrett Veneklassen, Former Executive Director, New Mexico Wildlife Federation

Office of State Engineer / Interstate Stream Commission

Paula Garcia, Executive Director, New Mexico Acequia Association

Peter Garcia, Governor, Ohkay Owingeh

Kyle Harwood, Attorney

Steve Hernandez, Attorney

Alvin Jones, Former New Mexico State District Judge

Adrian Oglesby, Director, Utton Transboundary Resource Center

Bruce Thomson, Research Professor and Emeritus Regents' Professor, Civil Engineering & Water Resources Program

Stacy Timmons, Hydrology Program Manager, New Mexico Bureau of Geology & Mineral Resources, New Mexico Tech

Ralph Vigil, Chair, New Mexico Acequia Commission

The Nature Conservancy is a global conservation organization dedicated to conserving the lands and waters on which all life depends. Guided by science, we create innovative, on-the-ground solutions to our world's toughest challenges so that nature and people can thrive together. We are tackling climate change, conserving lands, waters and oceans at an unprecedented scale, providing food and water sustainably and helping make cities more sustainable. Working in 79 countries and territories, we use a collaborative approach that engages local communities, governments, the private sector, and other partners. To learn more, visit or follow @nature_press on Twitter.