Find Local Events & Opportunities

Building Oyster Substrate

Virginia

Three women stand around a narrow, raised table. A long thin roll of burlap coated in concrete is in the middle of the table. The table is in an open sided outdoor workshop.
Making New Substrate Teachers try their hands at creating new oyster reef substrate. The substrate will be used in a NFWF funded marsh protection project near the village of Wachapreague. Aug 2020 © Margaret Van Clief / TNC

Overview

Help build substrate that will be used to build functional oyster habitat capable of keeping up with sea level rise. 6 volunteers are needed each day to mix concrete and roll burlap through the concrete. This is labor intensive work that requires volunteers to spend hours bending over and lifting 10-15 lbs.

Wear old clothes and shoes you don’t mind getting dirty. The work will take place at the Brownsville Shop near the office in Nassawadox.

  • Thursday April 15: 12:00 - 3:00 pm (2 more volunteers needed)
  • Friday April 16: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm (3 more volunteers needed)
  • Monday May 3: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm 
  • Tuesday, May 4: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm 
  • Wednesday May 5: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm 
  • Monday May 17: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm 
  • Tuesday May 18: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm 
  • Tuesday June 1: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm 
  • Wednesday June 2: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm 
  • Thursday June 3: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm 
  • Friday June 4: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm 

To sign up, contact Jen Dalke, volunteer program manager, at jdalke@tnc.org, 540-335-1302 (c). Volunteers must read and sign our COVID field guidelines and health screening questions. Guidelines include having a mask readily accessible if working less than 6' apart, bringing hand sanitizer and confirming you have health insurance.