Green plants and trees surround a wooden boardwalk.
Tannersville Cranberry Bog Lush green nature surrounds the boardwalk at The Nature Conservancy's Tannersville Cranberry Bog Preserve. © Gates Rhodes

Find Local Events & Opportunities

Tannersville Cranberry Bog Walks

Pennsylvania

Join an environmental educator on Wednesdays and Sundays throughout summer and fall for a guided journey into the unique Tannersville Cranberry Bog. Along the way, they will explain the Bog’s formation, its interesting plant and animal life, and the role the local Preserve Committee and The Nature Conservancy play in its continued protection.

All walks begin in the parking lot of the preserve, along Cherry Lane Road. Walks are rain or shine. Visitors should wear comfortable, closed-toe shoes and bring water. Raincoats are preferred over umbrellas. Also, please apply any bug spray beforehand.  

The cost of this event is: $6/non-members, $4/EE and TNC members and children under 12. Space is limited and so pre-registration is required. To register, call the Monroe County Conservation District Office: 570-629-3061. 

Dates for all bog walks are as follows: 

  • Sunday, May 19, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 5, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, June 9, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 12, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 19, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, June 26, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 3, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 10, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, July 14, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 17, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 24, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 31, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, August 7, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, August 11, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, August 14, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, August 21, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, August 28, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, September 4, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, September 11, 10:00 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, September 18, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, September 22, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, September 25, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, October 2, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, October 9, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Sunday, October 13, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, October 16, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, October 23, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, October 30, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, November 6, 1:00 p.m. – 3:30 p.m.

Stand Up For Nature