Start receiving our award-winning magazine today!

Subscribe

Volunteer


Are you a group looking to partner with TNC? Would your students, church or community group be interested in a reoccurring service project at one of our preserves? Is your office looking for a great team building work day opportunity? See our Volunteering Information page.


Upcoming Volunteer Opportunities
Sandhills

Help collect wiregrass seed at the Calloway Forest Preserve on October 19, November 7 or 23, or December 5. Visit the event page for more information.

For general information about volunteering in the Sandhills and for more on wiregrass collection opportunities, contact Gretchen Coll at gcoll@tnc.org, on the phone (910) 246-0300.

Collecting Wiregrass in the Sandhills

Outer Banks/Nags Head Woods

The Nags Head Woods office periodically has work days to help with our oyster reef restoration projects and other things. Volunteers are needed to bag oyster shells, build oyster mats and oyster reef as well as plant marsh and upland plant habitat. All community members and visitors are invited.

If you are interested in getting involved with this or any other opportunity, please email Kate Murray at the Nags Head Woods office at kmurray@tnc.org or call (252) 441-2525.

Mountains

Please see our mountains volunteer page for information about opportunities as well as upcoming projects and dates. We now have a hotline you can call for information as well: (828) 350-1431 ext. 201.

Our Asheville mountains office has spring and summer volunteer work days, which include activities like trail maintenance and invasive species removal. For information on volunteering, contact Erin Buchholtz at Mtns_Volunteers@tnc.org or 828-350-1431 ext. 104. 

Southeast Coastal Plain

For information about volunteering, contact Sara Babin at sbabin@tnc.org or (910) 395-500.


Interested in an internship??

Find information on summer internships for high school students as well as diversity internships for college students on our Careers page.


Volunteer Contacts
  • TNC Volunteer Coordinator - Neal Cheek, ncheek@tnc.org or (919) 794-4371
  • Mountains Volunteers (includes New River and Hickory Nut Gorge) - Erin Buchholtz, Mtns_volunteers@tnc.org or (828) 350-1431 ext. 104
  • Outer Banks/Nags Head Woods - Kate Murray, kmurray@tnc.org or (252) 441-2525
  • Roanoke River - Chuck Peoples, cpeoples@tnc.org, or (252) 578-4115
  • Sandhills - Gretchen Coll, gcoll@tnc.org or (910) 246-0300
  • Southeast Coastal Plain/Wilmington - Sara Babin, sbabin@tnc.org or (910) 395-5000
  • Prescribed Burns - Maura High, mhigh@tnc.org or (919) 794-4377

We’re Accountable

The Nature Conservancy makes careful use of your support.

More Ratings

x animal

Sign up for Nature eNews!

Sign Up for Nature e-News

Get our e-newsletter filled with eco-tips and info on the places you care about most.

Thank you for joining our online community!

We’ll be in touch soon with more Nature Conservancy news, updates and exciting stories.

Please leave this field empty

We respect your privacy. The Nature Conservancy will not sell, rent or exchange your e-mail address. Read our full privacy policy for more information. By submitting this form, you agree to the Nature.org terms of use.