Start receiving our award-winning magazine today!



Conservancy Preserves that Allow Hunting

The following is a list of preserves and lands the Indiana Chapter owns and manages that allow hunting during deer season. Unlike the lands managed by the Division of Fish & Wildlife, hunting on Conservancy preserves is not open to the pubic. Our hunters are licensed by the chapter, and only they have permission to hunt. Wearing blaze orange is suggested when venturing to these areas during the hunting season.

Bow, gun and muzzleloaders are permitted throughout the season, except at Conrad Station, which is only open to bow hunting. Other special cases:

  • Houghton Lake has 5 licenses out for hunting/trapping all legal species, so hunters are out much of the year.
  • Division of Fish & Wildlife manages hunting on our land at Kankakee Sands (managed through Willow Slough FWA), NIPSCO Savanna and two tracts at Prairie Border (managed through Jasper-Pulaski FWA). They manage for hunting most legal species, so much of the year there are hunters out there as well.

Please be cautions when hiking in these areas. Learn more about Indiana's hunting and trapping season from the state's Department of Natural Resources.

Big Walnut (Putnam County)
Brown County Hills – McKinney/Gearhart
Brown County Hills – Joyce A. Rhodehamel Trust
Brown County Hills – Meredith (Lawrence County)
Brown County Hills – Girl Scouts of Tulip Trace
Brown County Hills – Hitz Rhodehamel
Charles Spring (Washington County)
Chelsea Flatwoods (Jefferson County)
Conrad Station (Newton County)
Douglas Woods (Steuben & DeKalb Counties)
Fawn River Fen (Lagrange County)
Grass Lake Complex (Steuben County)
Harrison County Glades
Buena Vista Glade (Harrison County)
Rabbit Hash Glade (Harrison County)
Stoner Hill Glades (Harrison County)
Teeple Glade (Harrison County)
Houghton Lake (Marshall County)
Kankakee Sands (Newton County)
Lower Blue River Forest – Wyandotte Cave System (Crawford County)
Lower Blue River Forest – Rothrock (Harrison County)
Ober Sand Savanna (Starke County)
Ohio-Wabash Confluence – Mackey Island (Posey County)
Perseverance Barrens (Harrison County)
Pigeon River - Cline Lake Fen (Lagrange County)
Saunders Woods (Gibson County)
Shooting Star Cliffs (Crawford County)
Sugar Creek – Boyce (Parke County)
Swamp Angel (Noble County)
Tefft Savanna – NIPSCO Savanna (Jasper County)
Tefft Savanna - Prairie Border (Jasper County)
Thousand Acre Woods (Daviess County)
Twin Creek Valley (Washington County)
Upper St. Joseph River – Fish Creek (DeKalb County)
Wening-Sherritt Seeps (Dubois County)

We’re Accountable

The Nature Conservancy makes careful use of your support.

More Ratings

x animal

Sign up for Nature eNews!

Sign Up for Nature e-News

Get our e-newsletter filled with eco-tips and info on the places you care about most.

Thank you for joining our online community!

We’ll be in touch soon with more Nature Conservancy news, updates and exciting stories.

Please leave this field empty

We respect your privacy. The Nature Conservancy will not sell, rent or exchange your e-mail address. Read our full privacy policy for more information. By submitting this form, you agree to the terms of use.