Subscribe

Gulf Restoration Groups Praise Historic Settlement for Oil Spill

Transocean penalties a step forward for unprecedented restoration efforts


Washington, D.C. | January 03, 2013

Gulf restoration and economic development groups lauded the announcement today from the Department of Justice that it has reached an historic settlement with Transocean for its role in the 2010 Gulf oil spill. Today’s $1.4 billion settlement will be paid under the Clean Water Act for civil and criminal penalties. A significant portion of those funds will be used to restore the Gulf, as directed by the RESTORE Act.

The groups issued the following statement:

“This is a great day for the Gulf environment and the communities that rely on a healthy ecosystem for their livelihoods,” said Environmental Defense Fund, Greater New Orleans Inc., National Wildlife Federation, National Audubon Society, The Nature Conservancy, Oxfam America and Ocean Conservancy. “We thank the Department of Justice for their leadership in holding Transocean accountable and look forward to full resolution of the case with other responsible parties, which will allow restoration efforts in the Gulf to get fully underway.”

“With this settlement, the Gulf Coast Ecosystem Restoration Council finally has some funding to begin implementing a comprehensive plan for ecosystem restoration that will rebuild the environment of the Gulf and the communities that rely upon it.”
 


The Nature Conservancy is a leading conservation organization working around the world to protect ecologically important lands and waters for nature and people. The Conservancy and its more than 1 million members have protected nearly 120 million acres worldwide. Visit The Nature Conservancy on the Web at www.nature.org.

Contact information

Heather Layman
The Nature Conservancy
703.841.3929
hlayman@tnc.org


Elizabeth Skree
Environmental Defense Fund
202.553.2543
eskree@tnc.org


David Ringer
National Audubon Society
212.979.3062
dringer@audubon.org


Shelley Sparks
Ocean Conservatory
504.616.9150
ssparks@oceanconservancy.org


Laura Rusu
Oxfam America
202.496.1169
lrusu@oxfamamerica.org


Jaclyn McDougal
National Wildlife Federation
678.436.5072
mcdougalj@nwf.org


Matt Wolfe
Greater New Orleans Inc.
504.527.6936
mwolfe@gnoinc.org

We’re Accountable

The Nature Conservancy makes careful use of your support.

More Ratings