A Do Tank, Not a Think Tank
An unprecedented group of global leaders working with The Nature Conservancy for solutions to three of Latin America's greatest challenges — Water Security, Sustainable Food Security and Smart Infrastructure — to benefit both people and nature.

Council members apply the same investment savvy and political acumen that made them successful leaders to advance the dual cause of conservation and sustainability. Comprised of over 30 influential leaders, the Council is led by co-chairs Henry M. Paulson, Jr. and Roberto Hernández Ramírez.

Current Council Members are listed below. [PDF]  [Map] 


Henry M. Paulson, Jr. (United States)
74th Secretary of the U.S. Treasury
Chairman & CEO, Goldman Sachs (1999-2006)
Chairman, The Nature Conservancy (2004–2006)

Roberto Hernández Ramírez (México)
Honorary Chairman, Banco Nacional de México
Chairman Banco Nacional de México (1991-2013)
Vice Chair, The Nature Conservancy


María Asunción Aramburuzabala (México)
Chairman, Tresalia Capital

Emilio Azcárraga (México)
Chief Executive Officer, Grupo Televisa

Alain Belda (Brazil)
Managing Director, Warburg Pincus LLC

Alejandro Bulgheroni (Argentina) 
Co-Founder and Chairman, Pan American Energy LLC

Gustavo Cisneros (Venezuela)
Chairman, Cisneros Group of Companies

Henrique de Campos Meirelles (Brazil)
Former Governor, Central Bank of Brazil

Juan Pablo del Valle (Mexico)
Chairman, Mexichem SAB

Katherine Farley (United States)
Senior Managing Director, Tishman Speyer

José Antonio Fernández (México)
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, FEMSA

Enrique García Rodríguez (Bolivia)
President, CAF - Development Bank of Latin America

Nizan Guanaes (Brazil)
Chairman, Grupo ABC

Muhtar Kent (United States)
Chairman & CEO, The Coca-Cola Company

Ricardo Lagos (Chile)
Professor, Brown University
Former President of Chile

Jorge Paulo Lemann (Brazil)
Board Member, Anheuser-Busch InBev

Andrew Liveris (United States)
Chairman & CEO, The Dow Chemical Company

Andrónico Luksic (Chile)
Vice Chairman, Banco de Chile

Lorenzo Mendoza (Venezuela)
CEO, Grupo Polar

Luis Alberto Moreno (Colombia)
President, Inter-American Development Bank

Stanley Motta (Panamá)
Director, Copa Holdings S.A.

Indra Nooyi (United States)
Chairman & CEO, PepsiCo Inc.

Doug Oberhelman (United States)
Chairman & CEO, Caterpillar, Inc.

Marcelo Bahia Odebrecht (Brazil)
Chief Executive Officer, Odebrecht, S.A.

Greg Page (United States)
Chief Executive Officer, Cargill, Inc.

Carlos Rodríguez-Pastor (Peru)
President, Intercorp.

Virginia M. (Ginni) Rometty (United States) 
Chairman, President & CEO, IBM

Alvaro Saieh (Chile)
Chairman and Director, Corpbanca S.A.

Alejandro Santo Domingo (Colombia)
Chairman, Grupo Empresarial Bavaria S.A.

Daniel Servitje (México)
Chairman and CEO, Grupo Bimbo

Roberto Setubal (Brazil)
Vice Chairmen & CEO, Itaú Unibanco Holding S.A.

Mark Tercek (United States)
President & CEO, The Nature Conservancy

Eduardo Tricio (Mexico)
Chairman, Grupo Lala
Chairman, Grupo Aeroméxico

Alberto Weisser (Brazil)
Chairman & CEO, Bunge Limited


 “This is a key moment to set a path for sustainable, environmentally-responsible growth....the Council has a clear vision of taking action now to ensure Latin America’s natural systems remain intact and are able to meet the needs of both nature and the people of Latin America.”

                                                                             Mark Tercek 

 President & CEO, The Nature Conservancy

Challenges & Solutions

Learn More
Sustainable Food Security
Learn More
Smart Infrastructure
Learn More