A Do Tank, Not a Think Tank
An unprecedented group of global leaders working with The Nature Conservancy for solutions to three of Latin America's greatest challenges — Water Security, Sustainable Food Security and Smart Infrastructure — to benefit both people and nature.

Member Profile

José Antonio Fernández Carbajal

José Antonio Fernández Carbajal

Council Member, Mexico

Chairman of the Board and CEO, FEMSA


Member Since: 2011

Priority Theme(s):

  • Media working group
  • Water Security

Current project(s): 

  • Latin American Water Fund Partnership
  • "Where does your water come from?"

For more information:



Mr. Fernandez is currently the Chairman and CEO of FEMSA, the leading beverage company in Latin America, operating in nine countries.

Jose Antonio Fernandez Carbajal was named Chief Executive Officer of FEMSA in January 1995 and has served as Chairman of the Board of FEMSA since 2001. On May 2010, he was also named Vice Chairman of the Board of Heineken Holding and Chairman of the Americas Committee of Heineken, created to oversee the strategic direction of the business opportunities in that region.

Before becoming CEO of FEMSA, Mr. Fernandez Carbajal served as the Chief Executive Officer of OXXO. He also held positions in FEMSA’s corporate area, as well as in the commercial department of the Cuauhtemoc Moctezuma Brewery.

Mr. Fernandez Carbajal is also Chairman of the Board of Coca-Cola FEMSA, Chairman of the Board of Tecnológico de Monterrey, Chairman of the Board of Fundación FEMSA, the U.S. Mexico Foundation, and participates on the Boards of Industrias Peñoles, Aerolíneas Volaris and Grupo Televisa.

He co-directs the Chapter Mexico of the Woodrow Wilson Center as President, and from 20 years ago, he has been a professor of the course of Planning Systems in the Industrial and Systems Engineering degree at Tecnológico de Monterrey, Monterrey campus.

Mr. Fernandez Carbajal earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Industrial and Systems Engineering and a Master’s degree in Business Administration from Tecnológico de Monterrey.

LACC Full Member List Button