Start receiving our award-winning magazine today!


About Us

Board of Directors

Board Officers and Members 

Board Chairman
Craig O. McCaw
Chairman & CEO, Eagle River Inc.
Santa Barbara, California
Term: October 2010 – October 2019

President and Chief Executive Officer
Mark R. Tercek
The Nature Conservancy
Arlington, Virginia
Term: July 2008 – Present

Vice Chair
James E. Rogers
Chairman, President and CEO, Retired
Duke Energy
Charlotte, North Carolina
Term: February 2012 – October 2021

Muneer A. Satter
Satter Investment Management, LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Term: January 2006 – October 2015

Frank E. Loy
Former Undersecretary of State for Global Affairs
United States Government
Washington, DC
Term: October 2006 – October 2015



Teresa Beck
Former President, American Stores Co.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Term: January 2006 – October 2015

David Blood
Senior Partner
Generation Investment Management
London, U.K.
Term: August 2010 – October 2019 

Shona L. Brown
Googler Emeritus, Google Inc.
Palo Alto, California
Term: February 2011 – October 2020

Gretchen C. Daily
Department of Biological Sciences
Stanford University
Stanford, California
Term: April 2006 – October 2015

Steven A. Denning
Chairman, General Atlantic LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Term: November 2007 – October 2016

Senator William Frist
Partner and Chairman
Cressey and Company
Nashville, Tennessee
Term: June 2015 – October 2024

Joseph H. Gleberman
Advisory Director
Goldman Sachs & Co.
New York, New York
Term: December 2012 – October 2022

Jeremy Grantham
Co-founder and Chief Investment Strategist
Grantham, Mayo, Van Otterloo & Co. (GMO)
Boston, Massachusetts
Term: February 2012 – October 2021 

Dr. Jane Lubchenco
Distinguished University Professor and
Advisor in Marine Studies
Oregon State University
Corvallis, OR
Term: October 2014 – October 2023

Jack Ma
Lead Founder, Chairman and CEO
Alibaba Group
Hangzhou, China
Term: April 2010 – October 2019

Claudia Madrazo
Artist & Conservationist
Mexico City, Mexico
Term: October 2013- October 2022

Thomas J. Meredith
Co-founder and General Partner
Meritage Capital
Austin, Texas
Term: July 2009 – October 2018

Thomas S. Middleton
Senior Managing Director
Blackstone Group
New York, New York
Term: October 2007 – October 2016

Dr. Ana M. Parma
Research Scientist
Centro Nacional Patagónico, CONICET
Puerto Madryn, Argentina
Term: June 2013 – October 2022

Dr. Stephen Polasky
Professor of Environmental Economics
University of Minnesota
St. Paul, Minnesota
Term: January 2009 – October 2018

Vincent Ryan
Schooner Capital, LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Term: June 2015 – October 2024

Brenda Shapiro
Long-term TNC Trustee & Conservationist
Chicago, Illinois
Term: June 2015 – October 2024

Thomas J. Tierney
Chairman and Co-Founder
The Bridgespan Group, Inc.
Boston, Massachusetts
Term: October 2007 – October 2017

Moses K. Tsang
Executive Chairman
AP Capital Holdings Inc.
Hong Kong
Term: January 2010 – October 2019 

Frances A. Ulmer
Chair, U.S. Arctic Research Commission
Anchorage, Alaska
Term: October 2011 – October 2020

Dr. P. Roy Vagelos
Retired Chairman & CEO
Merck & Co., Inc.
Whitehouse Station, New Jersey
Term: December 2012 – October 2022

Margaret C. Whitman*
President and CEO, Hewlett-Packard Company
Palo Alto, California
Term: March 2011 – October 2020

Ying Wu
China Capital Group
Beijing, China
Term: May 2015 – October 2024

*Currently on leave of absence


We’re Accountable

The Nature Conservancy makes careful use of your support.

More Ratings

x animal

Sign up for Nature eNews!

Sign Up for Nature e-News

Learn about the places you love. Find out
how you can help.

Thank you for joining our online community!

We’ll be in touch soon with more Nature Conservancy news, updates and exciting stories.

Please leave this field empty

I'm already on the list!

Read our privacy policy.